RSS

Frugality & Job Searching

22 Oct

For some reason, that I can’t figure out, after moving to Indy in 2007 I have not been able to find a permanent job. It’s not because I’m being picky, far from it. I’m putting in for everything, well, at least anything I can do, or think I can do. There’s clearly some limitations, for example; I can’t be an electrician, or any other job that requires skills I simply don’t have, and can’t train for on the job. I’m fine with minimum wage, so it’s not like I’m looking to get a lot of money. I use ‘keywords’ and tailor my resumes for each job, I have called back, I’ve looked into employment agencies (they have nothing for me), etc.

Earlier this year I had some stuff that seemed promising, but it never happened (through no fault of my own). The one job I did have, which was barely even part-time, working for my boyfriends grandparents, is gone. They closed up shop. It may not have been a lot of money, but it was something. This job was also Ken’s ‘extra’ source of income (he worked on their website, and worked races). I’m just glad he found a new job last year, it worked out well.

Because of all the above I have been trying to be very frugal lately, more than I normally am. If Ken and Amanda were not such picky eaters they would be living off ramen. Most of our meals involve pasta and….err…and…more pasta? Well, whatever it is I’ve been feeding them I’m able to keep meal costs down. I’ve pretty much just been getting the basics; Cereal, milk, eggs, bread, lunch meat, pastas, rice, frozen chicken tenders, frozen burger patties, etc. You get the idea. Also doing more shopping at ALDI, it saves me a ton of money, and I have no clue why I stopped shopping there.

Earlier I was going over what’s left of my money, and figured out that I have enough to pay my credit cards for the next 2 months, and enough to for about 3 weeks of groceries. I don’t have much, but I’m going to start digging around to see if I have anything I can sell on craigslist. This sucks. I just want a damn job.

Anyway, no real point to this post, except for trying to get some stuff off my chest, and to say that I am fracking losing my mind.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 22, 2012 in Home Life, thoughts

 

Leave a Reply

 
