RSS

More Japanese Snacks

26 Mar

I had a whole other post on the subject (Japanese Snacks) from another time that I got in a decent sized order and felt like writing a blog about why I like buying from a certain online store. šŸ™‚

Just got in an order from AsianFoodGrocer.com! We got the usual; pocky, melon bread & ramune soda, plus we got a couple different snacks that we’ve never tried before and I got Amanda a rice bowl with Sakura flowers on it…That is the first non snack/food item that I have ever bought from AFG. lol Ken even got some things, he got a ramune soda (strawberry) and some Kasugai Yogurt Candy, which he calls “melty smarties”.Ā  Got a fairly big order this time, would have gotten more but they were sold out of a few things.

One of the new things we tried is the Sparkling Strawberry Kit Kat, I bought 2 of them because Amanda loves strawberry flavored things and I knew she would want one of her own, the other was for me and Ken to share. We loved it! The site says it tastes like a glass of strawberry soda, and it actually kind of does. The flavor has a kick to it, like the fizz when drinking a soda.

Found an item in their clearance section that I figured I should give a try. I’ve often heard about different food/snack items in Japan having a red bean flavor and have been curious as to what these things would taste like, which is what made me want to try this; it’s a box of Tokachi Azuki Caramel. It’s really not bad, I liked it and so did my daughter. I don’t know how to explain the taste but it doesn’t actually have a caramel flavor. I guess what I am mostly tasting is the red bean, but since I have never tried anything with it before I have no clue. There was another reason I wanted to buy this, I liked the packaging. What? I know I’m weird.

A couple of Amanda’s things, which are Hello Kitty themed! Strawberry ramune soda and strawberry Lips Candy (cute bunny!). Of course Amanda got other things, like the kit kat and pocky…And everything is strawberry flavored. She also gets melon bread, possibly the only non-strawberry thing she ever gets.

Been wanting to make some different Japanese meals lately, like Okonomiyaki. First I looked up different recipes and read about the okonomi sauce that I would need, and how it is hard to make and also hard to find, then when you do find it the expense is ridiculous. But I shop at AFG and thankfully they had some, and for only $4! I also got the ‘pancake’ mix from them because I am too lazy to make it myself. (these are probably the only non-snack items in my post heh)

I love my melon flavored stuff and always order something with melon. This time I got; Melon Cream Soda, Melon Ramune Soda and Melon Bread. OK, so the bread is not actually melon flavor, but the coating on it does seem to have a melon taste to it. Originally melon bread never had a melon flavor in any way, it got it’s name from the shape of the bread, not taste. This is the first time that I have tried the melon cream soda and I really liked it! Also, I found it neat that there was an ad on the side of the bottle for a One Piece film. šŸ™‚

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 26, 2010 in Food, Geek Things, Japan

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “More Japanese Snacks

  1. AsianFoodGrocer.com

    March 27, 2010 at 11:58 am

    Hey Sprite šŸ™‚ This is a great post!!!f I want to give you and your readers a heads up of things to come, and a discount for your next order >_<

    I just placed an order to Japan for some AMAZING new bento box's, pens, pencils, paper. I also had about 60 NEW snack items, including Hello Kitty Strawberry Pocky!!!

    For you and your readers, just enter in this code: BLOGPOST99, and save 5% off your entire order! Also, if you order over $75 your shipping is free!!!

    Thanks again,
    Asian Food Grocer

     
    • spritey72

      March 27, 2010 at 10:38 pm

      Thanks! šŸ™‚

       

Leave a Reply

 
