RSS

Dr. Horrible cosplay

30 Oct

Updated: 10-07-10 (updated some outdated links for costume ideas)

By now I am sure everyone knows all this stuff…But I was bored and love Dr. Horrible cosplay/costumes be it for Halloween, a convention or just because. When I did this I wanted to find it quick and inexpensive ideas. Others out there have gone all out on costumes, especially for Dr. Horrible, but I just don’t have the time or money for stuff like that. *sigh* So here are my simple ideas if you want to be Dr. H, Penny, Captain Hammer or a groupie!

Ken, my boyfriend, has a Dr. H costume though it is not as good as we wanted it to be (some work needs to be done) but it is passable. So if you are not worried about details…

Dr. Horrible: Boots, Goggles – sadly no one seems to have the exact pair anymore but the ones that are available are easily altered…All you need is a can of silver/chrome spray paint. Gloves – and those are the exact gloves. Lab Coat It takes some alterations but all we did was remove the buttons on the left side of it and paint the rest of them white and we cut slits up the sides and you might even want to have the hem of it taken up a little. There are a few more alterations I would like to make to it though. Like adding the pocket with the symbol on it and putting the…whatever it is called on the back. All I need for that is 2 buttons (2 of the ones I removed) and a piece of material (maybe even cut from it before taking up the hem). The simplest part of the costume is the pants. Just find a cheap pair of tan khakis.

Penny: Being Penny is fairly simple. Just buy some clothes that are similar to her style in Dr. Horrible and maybe add a prop…As mentioned in an old post I like the idea of the clipboard (with some fliers)…Quick ideas for “Caring Hands” Penny style clothes; Tank, Jeans, Shoes, Hoodie, Belt. (The hoodie is on the expensive side because I had trouble finding a budget friendly one). The 15DollarStore might be a good place to check out.

Captain Hammer: If you need help with how to dress like Captain Hammer then you are just being way too lazy 😛 But here ya go anyway;  Cargos, Hammer-Tee, Boots and Gloves. You will have to supply the cocky attitude all on your own.

Groupies: I think groupies should dress a little fun, colorful. Ya know? The obvious point is the fan tee, maybe a cute skirt (or jean skirt & leggings?)and some comfy flats. And do something fun with your hair, add some colorful, playful hair accessories and of course do not forget some fun jewelry! A good place to get stuff like that is at Claire’s. And if you are Dr. H groupies you will of course need to wear some goggles on top of your head. 🙂

This post brought to you out of lack of sleep and boredom. Have fun!

At some point in time the items I linked to will be gone when that happens I will try to update (I get bored a lot heh)

NOTE: When you order any Dr. Horrible T’s please make sure to order them from the Dr. Horrible shop at Bravado since those are officially licensed tees.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 30, 2008 in Geek Things

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Dr. Horrible cosplay

  1. Anna

    November 3, 2008 at 10:46 pm

    Aww. I would have LOVED to get into Dr. Horrible, but sadly I’m in the UK and am thus excluded from the fun. Feel sorry for me!

     
  2. spritey72

    November 8, 2008 at 1:54 am

    I do feel sorry for you! Dr. Horrible is awesome…Besides I have a mad crush on Neil Patrick Harris. 🙂

     
    • Dude

      July 20, 2009 at 11:51 pm

      Sorry to say, spritey72, if you’re not a dude, you’re out of luck.

       
      • spritey72

        July 23, 2009 at 7:23 pm

        I know. But that doesn’t stop me from having a crush on him! lol

         

Leave a Reply

 
