RSS

GenCon Indy 2008

18 Aug

Well we missed the first day of GenCon because of his job and other things that came up so that means that we missed the screening of The Guild which I wanted to attend just for fun. But we did go the other 3 days and had a lot of fun, but it did burn us out. One night they had a screening of Serenity which we had planned on seeing. It was at midnight so we thought we should head home and go back up later…But we were so tired we never made it back. Yeah, we are lame.

We met Peter Mayhew, who is Chewbacca in Star Wars, and got his autograph but I stupidly forgot to take a picture of him. And to be even more stupid, I missed out on meeting and getting an autograph from R.A Slavatore (though I did see him..from a short distance). See? Told you…Lame. I am kicking myself now.

We spent a lot of time just trying to see everything and find some cool stuff, like a Dargo (Farscape) statue that we got for only $15. We also got an autographed (by Felicia Day) copy of The Guild on DVD, some WoW trading cards and a collectors edition tin of Star Trek cards. My daughter got a bunch of anime things and all I got for myself was a really cool poster of Drizzt and Guenhwyvar I would have gotten a ReBoot Tee (I was so excited to see ReBoot tees!) but they only had extra large…So when I got home I just ordered one online. 🙂 My daughter attended a few screenings of some anime and one I attended with her was for Vampire Knight (I happen to love Vampires).

What was funny about the whole thing was that I thought my daughter would not want to stand out, she always seems so quite and not sure how to act. And she seemed embarrassed by the idea that my boyfriend was wearing a costume (Dr. Horrible). But once we got there and saw all these people cosplaying, especially since most of them were dressed as some anime character (mostly Naruto cosplayers) and how my bf was getting all this attenion (people kept taking his pic lol) she all of a sudden wanted to stand out. It was too late to really get a costume for her but luckily she already had something she could wear. She had this Jacket just like what Naruto wears (that I got for only $15 on clearance over a year ago) and she had the headband then just added the markings he has on his face, that did the trick and people started taking her picture too. So yeah, she was happy.

And I as I mentioned in my previous post you can check out my flickr for photos from the event.

Downside for me: My boyfriend never thought to take a photo of me while we were there (and it was my first convention), granted I never asked (kind of did once) but I was on one of those, “I want him to think of it himself” kind of things…I should have known better. heh He didn’t even think to get our picture together when I was dressed in my “Dr. H groupie tee” and stuff…But he was disappointed that I didn’t think to snap a pic of him and this girl who was wearing a Dr. H tee (I had taken a pic for her on her camera). Even after I kept saying things like, “Well that’s OK, you have me. Remember? Me…Dr. H groupie…You know? You can have one taken with me.” but he blew me off…Geez…Where exactly do I rate? *shrug*

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 18, 2008 in Geek Things

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
